6 Comments

I try to be aware of my body sensations. A big stress out trigger for me is when I am worried I am running late and others are not moving at a pace that shows that they care about time. One thing I do to cope with a stress response is to practice Tara Brach’s R.A.I.N. exercise. Do you know what this is?

Expand full comment
author

I hear you. I get tired of going at the pace of little ones sometimes. I haven't heard of Tara Brach's R.A.I.N. exercise. I'll have to look it up!

Expand full comment
Feb 5, 2023Liked by Jacquie Bullard

https://www.tarabrach.com/rain-practice-radical-compassion/

Here is a link if you are interested. I find that when I can care for the hard feelings that arise, I can care more for myself and others.

Expand full comment
author

Lovely, thank you! I did find a post about it on her site, too. I'm so into stuff like this! I've been doing an online training on Restorative Yoga and it touches upon similar types of practices. Also, I love Tara Brach's voice (I've done some of her guided meditations on Insight Timer). Thanks for sharing!

Expand full comment
Jan 29, 2023Liked by Jacquie Bullard

I often get stressed out by new things - trying something new, or even driving to a new location. I currently cope by planning in detail, working out all the scenarios, and creating back-up plans for if things go wrong. But I am working on building my intuition and knowing, and allowing my breath and inner resources to inform my decisions and help me cope instead.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds great! I myself am such a terrible planner, ha! I tend to fly by the seat of my pants (which is sometimes exhilarating, sometimes stressful). Glad you mentioned the distinction between inner and outer resources, though. I try to offer a mixture of those in some of my posts:)

Expand full comment